Truly.Coily.Me

*New* Deep Conditioning Regimen for High Porosity Hair

Posted on: January 21, 2013

Greetings, Curlies!

As the title says, I recently did some experimenting with my deep conditioning regimen. I’ve noticed over the past few months that whenever I rinse any product out of my hair, my hair tends to dry OUT–meaning, whenever I rinse out products, as the water is drying out of my hair, it really depletes the moisture from my hair. So, even if I’m rinsing out a deep conditioner, my hair still feels dry after rinsing it out because as my hair dries, it’s taking out the moisture that the deep conditioner helped to restore. My assumption is that this has something to do with my hair being very high porosity.

SO–my solution: leaving in my deep conditioner! So far, this has worked very well for me, especially since I use all-natural deep conditioners anyway. Because of that, I don’t really have to worry about leaving “bad” ingredients in my hair. Last week, I DC’d with Pura Body Naturals Chocolate Hair Smoothie and sealed with coconut oil. I put on a plastic cap and let it marinate in my hair overnight. The next morning, my hair was nice and juicy (lol), and I just styled my hair as usual. Usually, my hair feels pretty dry the first 2 days after a wash. BUT after doing this, I had SOFT first day hair! My hair felt so good.

So, this is probably how I will be deep conditioning my hair from now on–DC’ing overnight, sealing with an oil, and leaving it in. I noticed my curls were SO much smoother, shinier and more defined after using this method. I also noticed a lot less shedding, which I’m all about. If you think you have high porosity hair and notice your hair being dry after rinsing out your deep conditioner, give this a try, it may work for you too! (I would suggest using an all-natural conditioner.) Thanks for reading & Have a great week! 🙂

Til Next Time,

XOXO

5 Responses to "*New* Deep Conditioning Regimen for High Porosity Hair"

Have you ever tried the curly girl method or wash and go’s? Your hair maybe like mine, has to have daily dose of water. Also, the conditioner doesn’t leave your scalp itchy?

All I wear are wash and go’s lol. My hair doesn’t take too well to twist outs and I’m not very good at doing fancy styles anyway. I think I inadvertently do the curly girl method. I never looked it up or tried to, but I already follow a lot of its guidelines–I don’t use products with sulfates/silicones/mineral oil, I mostly cowash, always finger detangle, etc. And nope, the conditioners don’t make my scalp itchy.

Very helpful advice within this post ! Thank you for the lovely and thoughtful article coily hair

This regimen works wonders for me as well…hair never felt so much better…loving it!

Thanks for commenting! Glad it worked out for you 🙂

What are your thoughts?

