Truly.Coily.Me

Confession: My hair is high maintenance!

Posted on: November 5, 2012

Hey Curlies,

Maybe y’all can relate to my confession. Having high porosity hair + super PICKY hair = major problems for my pockets! I’ve found several products that I like and that my hair LOVES, but because I have to layer product upon product upon product in order for my hair to maintain moisture, it gets SO expensive!! For example–I went through an entire 8oz bottle of Karen’s Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia Leave-in Conditioner within a week ($16). I used up most of my Oyin Hair Dew within 1.5 weeks ($13). I FLY through a whole bottle of Shea Radiance Moisturizing Hair Milk in a week, if that long ($16). The first 2 products I use to moisturize my hair at night, and the Shea Radiance product I use to refresh it in the morning. Guys, that’s $45 a WEEK..$180 a MONTH on hair products. That doesn’t even include deep conditioners, oils, and shampoos. Smh..this is getting ridiculous. I need a 2nd job just to pay for my hair products!

I try cheaper products and my hair turns out dry and feels like it’s literally going to snap off of my head. The more expensive stuff is what I need, but I’m often forced to use other stuff just because I can’t always afford the other stuff. So frustrating. Smh.

*SIGH* Okay y’all, I just had to vent. Back to your regularly scheduled programming 🙂

What are your thoughts?

