Truly.Coily.Me

Natural Hair & The WONDERS of Coconut Oil!

Posted on: August 16, 2012

Okay, so I’ve made a new discovery: COCONUT OIL! Why did NO ONE hip me to its amazing-ness sooner?!?

I recently started pre-pooing with Jamaican Black Castor Oil. From what I’ve read, the best way to pre-poo is to use an oil that will penetrate your hair shaft and strengthen it from the inside out while providing moisture to lessen the harshness of washing your hair. Then I also read that coconut oil is the best (or only) oil that can truly penetrate your hair shaft. So anyway, I picked some up from Trader Joe’s and decided to give it go.

I did my very first coconut oil pre-poo on Saturday. I let it sit on my hair overnight and washed & deep conditioned the next day. If I didn’t know any better, I would say I have a WHOLE NEW head of hair! My hair has always been very fine and thin especially at the crown of my head (thanks, Mom). You could pretty much see through my hair to my scalp from many angles. BUT..since Saturday..my hair is THICKER, FULL, and FLUFFY! Like…I’m amazed. I’ll post some pics..you can’t see my scalp anymore from the back! Lol. This is major for me. I doubt y’all understand lol.  Let me find out all my hair needed was some coconut oil all these years?!

Okay I’m done. 🙂 Moral of the story: if you’ve never pre-poo’d with coconut oil…give it a shot! I know everyone’s hair is different. But if you just want stronger, healthier hair, I highly suggest it! I can’t use oils to style my hair because it makes it frizzy, but pre-poos work very well for me. Here are some pictures..note you can’t see through to my scalp–except for at the part..this is unheard of for me lol..

image

image

image

image

Til Next Time!
XOXO

3 Responses to "Natural Hair & The WONDERS of Coconut Oil!"

It’s worth a pre-poo. I’m going to try it out.

Let me know how you like it!

[…] loves it. Worth a shot for sure. I came across her blog post on her experience with coconut oil here. She spritzes her hair with warm water before adding the oil which from what I’ve read is a […]

What are your thoughts?

