Truly.Coily.Me

Natural Hair & Conditioners

Posted on: July 29, 2012

One thing I’ve realized about conditioners since I’ve been natural: the directions are only suggestions! In my experience, using a conditioner differently than is directed on the bottle can be a great thing to try. For example, Tresemme Naturals Nourishing Moisture Conditioner doesn’t work for me as a rinse out–it makes my hair feel dry. But as a leave-in, it’s awesome!

If you have a rinse-out that dries your hair out after rinsing, try it as a leave-in. If you have a “deep conditioner” that doesn’t quite give you that DEEP conditioning you’re looking for, you can try that as a leave-in as well. I’ve even used my deep conditioning mixture as a leave in just because my hair loves it so much. I have one conditioner that just didn’t work for me as a leave-in, rinse out, deep–NOTHING. So, I added it to a spray bottle with water and glycerin, which made a GREAT refresher spray for my wash-and-go’s. 

I’m not saying EVERY deep and leave-in conditioner can alternatively be used as a leave-in. However, you will never know until you try. Play around with your conditioners! You may make some great discoveries like I did. 🙂

Til Next Time,
XOXO

What are your thoughts?

