Truly.Coily.Me

Natural Hair: High Porosity & Dry Wash-N-Go’s

Posted on: July 28, 2012

Okay, so maybe the fact that this wash-n-go regimen is done on DRY hair disqualifies it as a “wash-n-go”….but whatever. Go with me πŸ™‚

Background Story

I have to start by saying that this regimen came about due to the fact that for years I’d been doing wash-n-go’s, and couldn’t figure out why my hair was ALWAYS dry when I did them. No matter what conditioner/leave-in I used, no matter how much I deep conditioned, after my hair dried, it was just rough and felt like aΒ BrilloΒ pad. Recently, I’ve been researching information on hair porosity, during which I stumbled upon a blog post by Elle of Quest For The Perfect Curl. This was probably the MOST helpful and the information was broken down enough for me understand (Thanks, Elle!).

From my research, I realized that my hair is definitely high porosity. I don’t believe it’s necessarily heat damaged or unhealthy–my cuticles are just often more raised than normal. This causes my hair to suck up moisture very quickly; and since my hair cuticles are raised, the moisture leaves very quickly as well. During this process, by the time my wash-n-go is completely dry, my hair is often more dry than it was before I applied my product(s)! Also, in my research I read that high-po hair holds a LOT of water. The hair strand can only hold so much moisture. So, this is what I figured–if I’m starting my wash-n-go on soaking wet hair, my hair strands are already full of water. Thus, the product I’m applying on top of all that water isn’t really moisturizing my hair like I want it to. I wanted my hair to soak up more of the moisture from the conditioners I’m applying versus only soaking up the water. When my wash-n-go’s on wet hair dried..they completely dried OUT–NO moisture was retained. So this brings me to my solution……..*drum roll*……(lol)

Wash-N-Go on DRY (not wet) Hair

This is a wash-n-go regimen that I’ve been experimenting with. I haven’t seen anyone else do this, it’s just something I made up and hoped would work lol. I’ve been doing it for a few weeks now, and for my hair, it works like a CHARM. My hair is SOFT, moisturized, curls are defined, and best of all–it lasts me ALL WEEK. For the first time EVER, I’m getting 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th day hair. So here’s what I do:

1. Wash and de-tangle my hair the night before I want to style it. For example–to begin the work week on Monday, I wash my hair Sunday night. I blot out as much water as I can, separate it into sections (I do about 8-10), and apply a little water-based leave-in conditioner–just enough to moisturize it a little. Twist it up to dry overnight.

2. The next morning, once my hair is dry, I apply my product to my hair, which is already in sections from the night before. To each section, I apply a water-based leave-in, a thicker leave-in or moisturizer, shea butter mixture to seal, and a gel on top to hold the curls. Shingling, or finger combing, products through my hair works very well for me.

3. At night, I just sleep with my satin bonnet.

4. In the mornings–to refresh, I spritz with a TINY bit of my water/conditioner mix, fluff out, and GO! Literally takes me 2 minutes, if that.

Things to Note:

**The key to this regimen is using products that you know work well on your hair. All of the products I used are ones that I know my hair responds well to. With high porosity hair, it’s necessary to layer moisture into the hair, which is why I use 4 products (leave-in, moisturizer, sealant, gel).

**Because I’m applying product to DRY hair, I had to use a lot more of my leave-in to get my hair to the point that I could finger through it. Water helps to spread product throughout the hair. So, because I didn’t have that water to help get the product around, more of my leave-in (or whichever product is applied first) was needed.

**Even though I had to use more product initially to style my hair, my style lasted ALL WEEK, as opposed to me having to wet and do my hair every single morning before. So, it evens out in terms of how fast I’m going through my products.

**Everyone’s hair is different! This works awesomely for me, but it may or may not work for your hair. If you’re a high-po natural and are having issues with dry wash-n-go’s, I think this is a method worth trying. It works well for my sister & I, so if you’d like to be my guinea pig (lol), feel free to try this, and let me know how it goes! πŸ˜€

Week 1-Day 5

Week 2-Day 5

 

13 Responses to "Natural Hair: High Porosity & Dry Wash-N-Go’s"

I love your hair!

Reblogged this on ListenSpeakBlog and commented:
This is definitely on my list to try!

Hope it works well for you! πŸ™‚

[…] hair. I have to layer products in order to really maintain moisture (You can read more about that here, if you’d […]

i am so happy you mentioned this, because i have been in the experimenting stages for over about a year now, and i have been trying hard to retain moisture in my wash N go’s. They would more so come out looking like a Jerry curl and once dried its was crunchy and dry and not to mention i couldn’t really (touch) it because it would then turn into a frizz ball.. so anyways long story short i seen another natural sista’ who had a cute twist out style & i figured hey, why not just back into the protective style bandwagon since this whole was& Go situation is just not working. Well while sectioning and moisturizing, i put this leave in (beautiful textures) that only seems to work best on my dry hair and the (moisture butter whipped curl cream) over it and to my surprise my hair curled more then i ever seen it curl before!,i was so shocked but, since i am attempting the style i seen, i plan to come back to the ‘dry wash N go’ *hopefully it works* but with all that being said, I wondering if anyone else had done this before’…& to my surprise i found your page!! πŸ™‚
Thanks!!

Lol nice! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Finally! Someone with the same issues I’m having with wash n go’s. I will definitely try this. Thanks!! πŸ™‚

You’re welcome! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

This is funny. My hair is high porosity and wiry so my hair doesn’t get wet easily and dries very quickly. Whenever I apply product to freshly washed, wet hair (not really in sections though) my hair just bunches up, shrinks up and frizzes up. I was wondering why all of these other naturals are able to get nicely defined curls on soaking wet hair in the shower whilst using product when this isn’t the case for me. I’ve tried so many times only to receive the same horrible results. My hair only really curls up properly when I apply water + product or just product to dry, stretched hair in sections. My hair is just strange. Also, twistouts look terrible on me so I stick to braidouts. When I do braidouts on wet hair with even with just a natural oil my curl pattern shows through (albeit a bit stretched) and the style looks like a wash ‘n’ go. Thank you for this post!

I’m late, but thank you so much for your comment. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! Lol πŸ™‚

I am SO HAPPY I fell upon this post!
I googled “dry wash and go” last night after yet another failed hair wash.
I was getting so frustrated. When I left the curly hair salon my hair was incredible but I could never recreate it.
So last night I had an “aha moment” after reading your post. This was totally my hair! So I re-washed my hair (what a waste of product) and followed your instructions. Luckily I have great products and always did the 4 layer too (leave in, moisture, seal and gel) only difference was I always applied on SOAKING wet hair and it never worked.
Well after applying my products this morning… My hair is incredible! Just like the salon…BETTER!!
Thank you soooo much. I feel like I just won the hair lottery LOL:)

Lol aww thanks so much for commenting!! I’m so glad I could help πŸ™‚

What are your thoughts?

